Pages Menu
Jordan Clark
Categories Menu

Posted on Jul 19, 2017 in Books | 0 comments

Fall Down Seven Times, Get Up Eight: A young man’s voice from the silence of autism

Fall Down Seven Times, Get Up Eight: A young man’s voice from the silence of autism

by Naoki Higashida and David Mitchell

Book Description

Naoki Higashida met international success with THE REASON I JUMP, a revelatory account of life as a thirteen-year-old with non-verbal autism. Now he offers an equally illuminating insight into autism from his perspective as a young adult. In concise, engaging pieces, he shares his thoughts and feelings on a broad menu of topics ranging from school experiences to family relationships, the exhilaration of travel to the difficulties of speech. Aware of how mystifying his behaviour can appear to others, Higashida describes the effect on him of such commonplace things as a sudden change of plan, or the mental steps he has to take simply to register that it’s raining. Throughout, his aim is to foster a better understanding of autism and to encourage those with disabilities to be seen as people, not as problems.

With an introduction by David Mitchell, Fall Down Seven Times, Get Up Eight includes a dreamlike short story Higashida wrote for this edition. Both moving and of practical use, the book opens a window into the mind of an inspiring young man who meets the challenges of autism with tenacity and good humour. However often he falls down, he always gets back up.

Pages: 288
Publisher: Sceptre
Published: 11 July 2017
Language: English
Product Dimensions: 17.1 x 2.7 x 20.8 cm

You may also like reading these articles

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This